Pricing

Luma Health Pricing: What Practices Report and What to Ask

Last updated / Reviewed by Clunic Research Team

Quick answer

Luma Health does not publish pricing. Checked September 2026, lumahealth.io offers a demo and no rate card. It sells a custom subscription that third parties describe as scaling with provider count, patient volume and modules, with quotes set after a demo. Emitrr's analysis cites review sites putting the starting point around 250 US dollars per month and notes reports of long term contracts.

Free tool

AI Readiness Assessment

Twelve factual questions on data access, governance and change capacity.

Need it signed off?

Thirty free minutes with an analyst on the vendor, the workflow and the rule you are unsure about.

Book an evaluation call

How much does Luma Health cost?

Luma Health does not publish a price. Checked September 2026, lumahealth.io/pricing returns a not found error and the homepage offers a demo booking and a log in. The registry entry says pricing on request, and that matches what the site shows. Luma sells its patient success platform, covering scheduling, reminders, intake, waitlists and patient messaging, to practices, groups and health systems through a sales process, and the quote is set after a demonstration in which the sales team assesses practice size, patient volume, features and EHR integration complexity.

Third parties give an order of magnitude. Emitrr's Luma pricing analysis states that Luma has not disclosed its pricing openly, that some websites mention it generally starts around 250 US dollars per month, and that customers are often required to sign long term contracts. Other review platforms we found repeat the 250 dollar starting figure and describe pricing scaling with the number of providers and patients, with possible additional fees for messaging or surveys. None of these is Luma's number, and a starting figure for a small practice says little about what a 40 provider group will be quoted.

For a buyer the useful facts are the structure and the reported contract length, not the starting figure. Our patient intake software comparison sets Luma beside Phreesia and Clearwave.

How is Luma Health priced?

As a custom subscription, reported to scale on provider count and patient volume, with modules layered on. Luma's product set spans the patient journey: online scheduling and referral conversion, reminders and waitlist automation, digital intake and forms, two way messaging, feedback and, in recent years, AI voice and conversational agents. Each is a lever in the quote, and integration with your EHR, which Luma lists across the major ambulatory and hospital systems, is a driver of both price and implementation time.

The scaling on patient volume is the part to understand before the demo. A platform priced per provider costs the same whether a provider sees 15 or 40 patients a day; a platform with a patient volume component does not. For a high volume specialty or urgent care group, ask precisely which components scale with volume and whether there is a cap. The reported possibility of additional fees for messaging is the same question in a different form.

Luma competes most directly with Phreesia on the intake and access side and with scheduling and engagement platforms on the reminders side, and it positions itself as the layer that connects them. That breadth is why the quote depends on the module set, and why deciding the module set from your own front desk data before the demo, using the intake agent use case and the scheduling use case, changes the number you are quoted. The Luma Health vendor page covers the product in more depth.

What is included and what costs extra?

  • Modules. Scheduling, reminders, waitlist, intake, messaging, feedback and voice agents are priced as a set. Ask for each separately and for the bundle.
  • Messaging volume. Third parties report possible additional fees for SMS and surveys. Ask whether messages are metered, at what rate, and whether there is a cap.
  • EHR integration. Integration complexity is reported as a pricing factor. Ask what the integration fee is, what your EHR vendor charges on its side, and whether write back is real time.
  • Implementation and training. Ask whether they are included or separately priced, and what go live means.
  • Voice and AI agents. Newer products are often priced differently from the core platform, sometimes per call or per minute. Ask.
  • Support tier. Ask what is included and whether a named contact costs extra.

Ask for the quote with subscription by module, any volume components with their unit rates, integration, implementation and training on separate lines, at your current volume and at one and a half times it. The second figure tells you how the contract behaves as you grow.

How does Luma Health compare with Phreesia and Clearwave on price?

Patient intake and access pricing, September 2026, none published
VendorPublishedReportedModel
Luma HealthNoStarting around 250 USD per month per review sites cited by EmitrrCustom subscription scaling with providers and patients; long contracts reported
PhreesiaFree through 31 December 2026, then quoteStarting around 250 USD per month per review platforms cited by EmitrrCustomised subscription by size, workflows and modules; no per message fees stated
ClearwaveNoStarting around 300 to 800 USD per month plus one time implementation and integration fees, per Software FinderCustom subscription by agent, size and volume

The reported starting figures are close enough to be meaningless on their own. The structural differences are what to compare. Phreesia states no per message charges and is free through the end of 2026. Clearwave prices by agent and reports four figure one time fees. Luma is reported to scale with patient volume and to carry long contracts, which makes it potentially the cheapest for a small, low volume practice and potentially the most expensive for a high volume group over a multi year term.

Send all three the same specification: module set, locations, providers, annual patient encounters and message volume, and ask for a three year total with every component itemised. The intake software comparison sets out that specification.

Is Luma Health worth it?

Build the case from no shows and staff time rather than from the vendor's outcomes. Take a reported starting figure and scale it: assume a ten provider practice is quoted four times the 250 dollar starting point, or 1,000 US dollars a month, 12,000 a year, plus integration. That practice, seeing 40,000 visits a year with a 10 percent no show rate at an average reimbursement of 150 dollars, loses 600,000 dollars of scheduled revenue to no shows. If automated reminders, waitlist backfill and self scheduling recover two percentage points of that, it is 120,000 dollars a year against a 12,000 dollar subscription. The arithmetic is not the hard part.

The hard part is the contract. A reported long term commitment on a platform whose cost scales with patient volume means the price rises with your success and cannot be renegotiated until the term ends. Messaging fees, if metered, rise the same way. And the recovered no show revenue only materialises if the freed slots are actually filled, which depends on your scheduling templates and staff, not on the software.

Use the days in accounts receivable benchmark and the clinician turnover cost calculator to put your own baseline numbers into the case, and the scheduling use case to decide what to measure before the demo.

What to negotiate before signing

  1. Term. Long contracts are reported. Ask for one year with a renewal option, or a multi year term with an exit tied to agreed metrics measured from your baseline.
  2. Volume components capped. If any part of the price scales with patients or messages, get the unit rate and a cap in writing.
  3. Module pricing now, including modules you are not buying, so adding voice agents or intake later is not a new negotiation.
  4. Integration as a fixed fee with go live criteria, and your EHR vendor's interface charges confirmed separately.
  5. Renewal cap on annual increases.
  6. Exit and data. Export of patient communication history and forms at termination, and the cost.
  7. BAA and data terms. The public site does not state a BAA position; obtain the BAA, retention terms, subprocessor list and any AI training use before signing. The HIPAA and AI compliance page lists the clauses.

Arrive with your no show and staff time baseline and two competing quotes on the same specification. A vendor whose price scales with your volume should be willing to cap it.

What an independent review adds

Luma's pricing is set in a demo, scales on variables you may not have measured, and is reported to come with long terms. An independent review measures those variables first, sends the same specification to Luma, Phreesia and Clearwave, and models the three year cost at your current and projected volume with every metered component identified.

It also asks whether the problem you are solving is access, intake or scheduling, because the three vendors are strongest in different places and the module set you actually need may be smaller and cheaper than the platform you are shown. Our vendor selection service runs that comparison and supports the negotiation, and you can book a call to talk through your timeline.

Clunic takes no commissions or referral fees from Luma Health or any other vendor.

Questions we get asked

How much does Luma Health cost per month?

Luma Health does not publish a price. Emitrr's analysis cites review sites putting the starting point around 250 US dollars per month, with the quote set after a demo and scaling with providers, patient volume, modules and integration. The figure for your practice is a quote.

Is there a free trial of Luma Health?

No trial is published. The site offers a demo. Ask for a defined pilot on one module at one location, with agreed metrics measured from your own baseline, before committing to the full platform or a long term.

Does Luma Health pricing include EHR integration?

Integration complexity is reported as a factor in the quote rather than a fixed inclusion. Ask for the integration fee, whether your EHR vendor charges separately for the interface, and whether scheduling and intake data write back in real time.

Does Luma Health require a long term contract?

The term is not published, and users cited by Emitrr report long term contracts. Ask for one year with a renewal option, or a multi year term with an exit tied to agreed metrics, and get a cap on renewal increases.

Is Luma Health cheaper than Phreesia?

Not on any published basis; both quote and both are reported to start around 250 US dollars per month. Phreesia is free through 31 December 2026 and states no per message fees; Luma is reported to scale with patient volume. Over three years the module set and your volume decide it.

What is the cheapest patient access alternative to Luma Health?

The reminder and scheduling functions already inside your EHR or practice management system are the floor, and many practices underuse them. Among standalone vendors, reported starting figures cluster around 250 to 300 US dollars per month, including Clearwave. Our intake software comparison covers the options by practice size.