Ambience Healthcare Pricing: Outcome Tied Fees Explained
Last updated / Reviewed by Clunic Research Team
Quick answer
Ambience Healthcare does not publish pricing. Checked September 2026. It sells an annual per clinician licence to health systems, sold in modules for ambient documentation, point of care coding and documentation integrity, plus a one time implementation fee, and its site now describes fees tied to outcomes. Third party estimates collected by UsagePricing put the earlier licence at roughly 2,800 to 5,000 US dollars per provider per year.
Free tool
Put your own numbers in and see the range, not one flattering figure.
Need it signed off?
Thirty free minutes with an analyst on the vendor, the workflow and the rule you are unsure about.
Book an evaluation callHow much does Ambience Healthcare cost?
Ambience Healthcare publishes no price. We checked ambiencehealthcare.com in September 2026: there is no pricing page, the /pricing address returns a not found error, and the homepage directs buyers to a contact form or an email address. What the site does say about money is unusual. It describes fees tied to your outcomes and states that the company backs every promised outcome with its people, its platform and fees tied to results.
Before that positioning, third parties estimated the licence in conventional terms. UsagePricing's blueprint on Ambience records prior estimates of roughly 2,800 to 5,000 US dollars per provider per year depending on module mix, about 233 to 417 per month, and notes that those estimates were superseded in August 2026 when the company restructured around performance based contracts. The same page states that Ambience does not confirm any number publicly under the new model and has not disclosed how the outcome tied fee is calculated.
So the honest answer has two parts. The old reference point is low to mid thousands of dollars per provider per year. The new model puts some portion of the fee at risk against outcome targets, and the way that portion is calculated is exactly what you need the vendor to write down. Our AI scribe pricing comparison puts the reported range beside the rest of the market.
How is Ambience Healthcare priced?
Three layers, according to the UsagePricing summary and the vendor's own site. The base is an annual per clinician licence, sold modularly: the ambient scribe, point of care coding, and the clinical documentation integrity suite can be bought separately or together, and the module mix is the main driver of the per provider figure. On top of that sits a one time implementation fee that covers Epic integration and specialty template configuration. And across the whole contract, under the 2026 model, sits an outcome component in which fees are described as at risk against the customer's own targets, with utilisation, coding accuracy and compliance, and ROI multiples named as the metrics.
Outcome tied pricing sounds like a buyer's win and can be, but only if the outcomes are defined by you, measured by a method you control, and baselined before go live. A utilisation target the vendor sets, measured in the vendor's dashboard, against a baseline nobody recorded, is not a risk transfer. It is a marketing line. Ask three questions: which metrics, measured how, and what is the fee if the target is missed.
Ambience sells to health systems and large groups and is built natively into Epic, Oracle Health and eClinicalWorks. There is no self serve plan. Small practices should read our private practice page; larger buyers should read the Ambience vendor page alongside this one.
What is included and what costs extra?
The licence covers the modules you buy. Everything else is a line to ask about.
- Implementation fee. Reported as a one time charge covering Epic integration and specialty template configuration. The amount is not public. Ask what it covers, what the go live criteria are and whether any of it is refundable if go live slips.
- Modules. Coding and documentation integrity are priced separately from the scribe. If you only want ambient notes, say so early, because the bundled quote will assume otherwise.
- EHR side work. The Epic embedded experience is native, but your Epic build, interface testing and analyst time remain yours. Our Ambience and Epic integration page lists the asks.
- Outcome measurement. Under the outcome tied model, someone has to measure. If that is your analytics team, that is a cost; if it is the vendor's dashboard, that is a control you have given away.
- Training and change management. Not in the licence. Budget internal programme time.
- Specialty coverage. Ambience markets more than 100 specialty configurations. Confirm that yours are in the base licence rather than a configuration fee.
Ask for any quote split into licence by module, implementation, the outcome component with its formula, and any services. The formula is the piece most buyers forget to request and the one that decides what you actually pay in year two.
How does Ambience compare with Abridge, Dragon Copilot and Suki on price?
All four are quote only, so the comparison is between reported ranges and contract structures.
| Vendor | Reported | Model |
|---|---|---|
| Ambience Healthcare | About 2,800 to 5,000 USD per provider per year before the 2026 change, per UsagePricing | Per clinician licence by module, implementation fee, fees tied to outcomes |
| Abridge | About 2,500 to 7,200 USD per clinician per year, per RFP.wiki | Enterprise contract per clinician |
| Dragon Copilot | About 150 to 160 USD per user per month on retired reseller listings, per Plaud | Named user plus consumption, 12 month term |
| Suki | 299 to 399 USD per user per month, per HealOS | Per clinician subscription |
On reported licence figures Ambience and Abridge overlap almost entirely. The differences are in what surrounds the licence: Ambience bundles coding and documentation integrity as modules and puts fees at risk against outcomes; Abridge sells a broader product family on a conventional enterprise contract. If coding accuracy is a problem you can measure, Ambience's structure lets you price it. If it is not, you are paying for modules you will not use.
As always, convert every quote to total year one cost per clinician at your encounter volume, including your own integration and training effort, using the method in the pricing comparison.
Is Ambience Healthcare worth it?
Use the reported midpoint, about 3,900 US dollars per provider per year or 325 a month, and your own numbers. A physician costing 250,000 US dollars a year for 2,000 hours is 125 dollars an hour. If ambient documentation returns 40 minutes a day across 220 clinic days, that is about 147 hours, or 18,300 dollars of clinician time against a 3,900 dollar licence. The case survives even if only a third of the time becomes bookable value.
The coding module changes the arithmetic in a way the scribe does not. If point of care coding lifts documented acuity by even a small margin across a high volume service line, the revenue effect can exceed the documentation time saving, which is presumably why the vendor ties fees to it. It is also the effect most likely to draw compliance attention, so the baseline and the audit method need to be yours. Our coding automation use case page covers what to measure.
Subtract the constant costs: the implementation fee, a two to three week adoption dip, note review minutes every day and internal analyst time. Then run the AI scribe ROI calculator with your documentation baseline to get a break even licence price. Take that number into the negotiation, not the vendor's ROI multiple.
What to negotiate before signing
- The outcome formula. Which metrics, baselined when, measured by whom, and the fee consequence if targets are missed. Get it as a schedule to the contract, not a slide.
- Module scope. Licence only the modules you will deploy in year one, with a pre agreed price to add the rest.
- Implementation as a fixed fee with named deliverables, go live criteria and a holdback.
- Seat bands with a true up rather than a flat headcount agreed before adoption is known.
- Data terms. Retention, model training use, subprocessors and breach notification. Negotiable at this end; see our HIPAA and AI compliance page for the clauses.
- Pilot credit and exit. Pilot fees credited against year one if asked before the pilot; export format and cost at termination agreed at signature.
Outcome tied contracts reward buyers who measure well and punish buyers who do not. If your organisation cannot produce a documentation and coding baseline before go live, negotiate a conventional licence instead and revisit the outcome model at renewal.
What an independent review adds
Ambience's move to outcome tied fees makes the contract more sophisticated than a per seat quote, and the sophistication favours whichever side defines the metrics. An independent review builds your baseline before the vendor does, translates the outcome formula into a range of likely fees at your volume, and compares that range with conventional quotes from the alternatives on a like for like basis.
It also checks whether the modules you are being sold match a problem you have measured, and whether your Epic, Oracle Health or eClinicalWorks team has the capacity to deliver the integration on the vendor's timeline, since the implementation fee assumes they do.
Clunic takes no commissions or referral fees from Ambience or any other vendor. Our vendor selection service covers the comparison, pilot design and negotiation support, and you can book a call to discuss where you are.
Questions we get asked
How much does Ambience Healthcare cost per provider?
Not published. UsagePricing records third party estimates of roughly 2,800 to 5,000 US dollars per provider per year depending on module mix, before the company's 2026 move to outcome tied fees, after which it confirms no number publicly. Expect a per clinician annual licence plus an implementation fee, and ask for the outcome formula in writing.
Is there a free trial of Ambience Healthcare?
No trial is published. Ambience sells to health systems and pilots are scoped through sales. Ask for pilot fees to be credited against a first year contract before the pilot starts.
Does Ambience pricing include Epic integration?
A one time implementation fee is reported to cover Epic integration and specialty template configuration. Your own Epic build, testing and analyst time are separate. See the Ambience and Epic integration page for what to confirm.
What does outcome based pricing mean at Ambience?
The vendor describes fees tied to results, with utilisation, coding accuracy and ROI multiples named as metrics. It has not disclosed how the at risk portion is calculated. Before signing, get the metrics, baseline method, measurement owner and fee consequence written into a contract schedule.
Does Ambience require a long term contract?
Contracts are annual licences and the minimum term is not published. Health system deals at this end are often multi year. Trade term for price only with an exit clause tied to agreed pilot metrics.
What is the cheapest alternative to Ambience Healthcare?
For organisations, Dragon Copilot was listed by resellers at about 150 US dollars per user per month before Microsoft's May 2026 change. For individuals, Heidi publishes a free tier and Freed publishes plans from 39 US dollars a month. The pricing comparison lays them out.
Make it a formal evaluation
Everything we publish is free to read and free to argue with. When the decision has to be signed, dated and defended to a board, we run the evaluation against your own estate. We take no vendor commissions.
- A 30 minute evaluation call with an analyst, no pitch deck.
- A read on the vendors and the rules in play, and the use cases we would not touch yet.
- A written proposal with scope, sequence and a fixed fee.
- No obligation
- Direct with an analyst, not a sales rep
- BAA available before any PHI discussion